• > Home
  • > News
  • > Rusko "Songs" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Rusko "Songs" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars

    Mon, 26 Mar 2012 12:27:28

    Rusko "Songs" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars - By ARTISTdirect.com editor in chief Rick Florino…

    Rusko Videos

    • Rusko - Somebody To Love

    more rusko videos »

    With Songs, Rusko goes totally against the grain.

    He does something that might seem impossible within modern EDM, and he creates, as the title suggests, a handful of unforgettable songs. That's what's precisely so marvelous about Rusko's second full-length album. Instead of tooling around with more whacked-out synths and computer-generated havoc like most of his peers, he crafts a collection of tracks as ready for the radio as they are for the dance floor. "Somebody to Love" emanates effortless club flavor as it snaps into a soulful hook that could've come right out of the '70s—until a tasteful drop flips everything on its head. "Skanker", "Love No More", and "Be Free" sound like Bob Marley in outer space blending blazing reggae with even more fierier production from Rusko. A standout, "Dirty Sexy", is a slinky, slithering, and sexy roll-in-the-hay that gives dubstep the right shake.

    Then there's "Thunder", which sounds like a club anthem for the ages. It's propulsive, potent, and powerful. In other words, it'd play perfectly anywhere from Ibiza to Las Vegas. Ultimately, what makes Songs so groundbreaking is how classic it is. Rusko flips a middle finger to the norm and emerges with something that will get asses moving at the tastemaker festivals and V.I.P. nightspots. Another reason, he's about to take over EDM…

    Rick Florino

    Have you heard Songs yet?

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Rusko

    Tags: Rusko

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart