• > Home
  • > News
  • > Shelby Lynne Takes On Dusty Springfield
  • Shelby Lynne Takes On Dusty Springfield

    Mon, 15 Oct 2007 09:07:23

    Shelby Lynne Takes On Dusty Springfield - The vocalist reemerges by getting under the covers

    Shelby Lynne Videos

    • Shelby Lynne - I Can't Imagine
    • Shelby Lynne - Call Me Up

    more shelby lynne videos »

    Shelby Lynne, and her golden voice, will cover nine Dusty Springfield songs on her forthcoming album, Just A Little Lovin', due out February 5. This will be her first release for the indie label Lost Highway since parting ways with Capitol Records.

    Lynne revealed that the tenth and final track "Pretend" is the only original song from the collection. The singer explained her decision for the covers album in a MySpace posting saying, "Dusty Springfield was a soulful singer. You can't ever fill her shoes. So I just set out to sing songs we all want to hear again. The road map I followed when cutting these, was the one she made years ago. It was easy. I just sang and let the songs do the work." She will road-test some of the new material in a handful of shows this fall in Los Angeles, CA, San Francisco, CA, Seattle, WA, and of course, Nashville, TN.

    This is the tracklisting:

    1. Just a Little Lovin'
    2. Anyone Who Had a Heart
    3. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
    4. I Only Want To Be With You
    5. The Look of Love
    6. Breakfast in Bed
    7. Willie and Laura Mae Jones
    8. I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore
    9. How Can I Be Sure
    10. Pretend

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Shelby Lynne

    Tags: Shelby Lynne

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart