• > Home
  • > News
  • > Sublime Announce Documentary & Reissues To Mark 25th Anniversary Of Debut Album "40oz. to Freedom"
  • Sublime Announce Documentary & Reissues To Mark 25th Anniversary Of Debut Album "40oz. to Freedom"

    Tue, 21 Mar 2017 11:22:48

    Sublime Announce Documentary & Reissues To Mark 25th Anniversary Of Debut Album "40oz. to Freedom" - [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Sublime will mark the 25th anniversary of their debut LP "40oz. to Freedom" with a yearlong celebration that includes reissues, a documentary film, and the band's own Mexican-style beer.

    The group, which released their genre-defining debut album, 40oz. to Freedom in 1992, will reissue 1995 Badfish EP, featuring deceased lead singer Bradley Nowell, and will arrive on vinyl for the first time to celebrate Record Store Day on April 22nd. This isn’t the first time that the band have done something special for the fans on Record Store Day, last year they reissued a vinyl copy of their 1991 cassette Jah Won't Pay the Bills.

    In addition to the music releases, Sublime are planning a pair of films based on the band's legacy, and their reach within the music world: The first ever authorized documentary, with Bud Gaugh, Eric Wilson and the Nowell estate all contributing to the production, is currently in development and promises to share the "real" story of the group. The rockers are also in advanced negotiations to develop a biopic about the band.

    With no limit to the band’s ambition to celebrate, they have also partnered with AleSmith Brewing Company to brew a Mexican-style lager dubbed "40oz. to Freedom." The beer will be a special edition, bottled in 40-ounce containers and sold through the San Diego brewery and to-be-determined locations before it's distributed nationally in six-packs of 12-ounce cans. "It doesn’t taste like anything else," Drummer Bud Gaugh said. "The flavor is great and it has a craft beer flare with a true Mexican lager taste. This is the one!" Nowell's widow Troy Holmes added, "Being a beer lover, I'm so proud to partner with an elite world-class brewery like AleSmith and I know Sublime fans will absolutely love it! Like Bradley sang, 'That second beer was such a turn-on.'"

    Just last summer Sublime released a huge Van Box set which included no less than 13 vinyl albums — the package was bulging with gifts, treats and memorabilia, so it seems like the fans are in for a second wave of celebration, music and booze.

    Badfish EP Tracklist
    Side A
    1. "Badfish" — 40 Oz album version
    2. "Don't Push (Original)" — 40 Oz album version
    3. "Untitled Dub (Live) — live at Kommotion 9/3/94"

    Side B
    4. "We're Only Gonna Die For Our Arrogance (Live) — live at Kommotion 9/3/94"
    5. "Roots Of Creation"

    Download Sublime music from iTunes

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Sublime

    Tags: Sublime

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart