• > Home
  • > News
  • > Target Offers Free Holiday Download Album
  • Target Offers Free Holiday Download Album

    Wed, 17 Nov 2010 11:53:10

    Target Offers Free Holiday Download Album - It will be available beginning November 28

    Best Coast Photos

    • Best Coast - LOS ANGELES, CA - AUGUST 18:  Bethany Cosentino and Bobb Bruno of the band Best Coast perform at the El Rey Theatre on August 18, 2013 in Los Angeles, California.
    • Best Coast - NEW YORK, NY - JUNE 07:  Bethany Cosentino of Best Coast performs during 2013 Governors Ball Music Festival at Randall's Island on June 7, 2013 in New York City.
    • Best Coast - LORNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 31:  Bethany Cosentino of Best Coast performs live on stage at The Falls Music and Arts Festival on December 31, 2012 in Lorne, Australia.

    more best coast photos »

    Little Jackie Videos

    • Little Jackie - The World Should Revolve Around Me
    • Little Jackie - The World Should Revolve Around Me

    more little jackie videos »

    Here's another reason that Target is my favorite store. I could literally spend hours traipsing the aisles for "stuff," but now, the super store that sells everything you need is helping its guests get into the swing of the holiday season – for free. The retailer has partnered with a variety of musical artists to create The Christmas Gig, an exclusive album of original holiday tracks available for free download here starting November 28. Select tracks from the collection will also be featured in Target's holiday advertising.

    Each of the songs captures a holiday experience as told from the perspective of a contemporary artist. The collection is an eclectic mix of music that includes country, folk, hip-hop, Latin, and pop—from the soulful "Mrs. Claus Ain't Got Nothin' on Me" by Little Jackie to the comforting "Tiny Tree Christmas" by Guster to an unforgettable Latin song "Super Mama" by The Pinker Tones.

    "A lot of our favorite bands have written great Christmas songs. So when Target asked us to do this project it gave us a good reason to finally write one of our own," said Rob Barbato, bassist and vocalist of Darker My Love.

    Tracks on The Christmas Gig album include:

    1. "Tiny Tree Christmas" by Guster
    2. "Toy Jackpot" by Blackalicious
    3. "Snow Is Falling" by Darker My Love
    4. "Perfect Gift" by Natalie Hemby
    5. "10,000 Watts" by Crystal Antlers
    6. "You'll Never Find My Christmas" by Bishop Allen
    7. "Get Down for the Holidays" by Jenny O.
    8. "Mrs. Claus Ain't Got Nothin' On Me" by Little Jackie
    9. "Electronic Santa" by Bret McKenzie
    10. "Got Something for You" by Best Coast/Wavves
    11. "It's Christmas" by Coconut Records
    12. "Party Hard" by Little Isidore
    13. "Super Mama" by The Pinker Tones
    14. "Un Regalo Para Mi" by Ceci Bastida

    Whoa! Best Coast doing a Target free download? How anti-indie of Best Coast!

    Are you planning to download these holiday madrigals?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Little Jackie

    Tags: Little Jackie, Guster, The Pinker Tones, Darker My Love, Rob Barbato, Blackalicious, Natalie Hemby, Crystal Antlers, Bishop Allen, Jenny O, Bret McKenzie, Best Coast, Wavves, Coconut Records, Little Isidore, Ceci Bastida

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart