• > Home
  • > News
  • > The Afghan Whigs' "Gentlemen" Being Reissued
  • The Afghan Whigs' "Gentlemen" Being Reissued

    Tue, 30 Sep 2014 14:31:10

    The Afghan Whigs' "Gentlemen" Being Reissued - Find out the details

    The Afghan Whigs Videos

    • The Afghan Whigs - Oriole
    • The Afghan Whigs - Demon In Profile

    more the afghan whigs videos »

    Ladies and Gentlemen, and The Afghan Whigs fans, we have some good news.

    If there is one album fully deserving of a coming of age celebration, it is The Afghan Whigs' Gentlemen. And it's getting one!

    Since its original release in October of 1993, Gentlemen's lore has grown in stature as fans new and old continue to embrace the album. 33 1/3 published a book about the album in 2008.

    So yeah, it's that important to alt rock history.

    Rhino will release the deluxe editions of the band's landmark album with GENTLEMEN AT 21. The release features the original album newly remastered along with bonus content consisting of rare B-Sides, live performances and previously unreleased demos.

    GENTLEMEN AT 21 arrives on October 28 as a 2-CD set for $19.98, digitally for $14.99 as well as the single original remastered LP for $24.98. A triple LP deluxe edition with the bonus material will be issued on November 28 on 180-gram vinyl for Record Store Day at $59.98.

    There are lots of options for fans of Gentlemen.

    Recorded in Memphis at Ardent Studios and originally released by Elektra Records on October 5, 1993, the album was the band's major label debut after recording two full-length albums for Sub Pop.

    In the original 1993 biography for the album, frontman Greg Dulli commented, "It was a bad year for me and some of my friends, in terms of relationships and dealing with some of my own little ghosts. A year of just some kinds of remembrances and stuff that I guess I will never be able to forget, especially since I wrote it all down and made a record out of it."

    We're glad and grateful that he did, 21 years later!

    Gentlemen Track Listing:

    Disc One:

    1. "If I Were Going"
    2. "Gentlemen"
    3. "Be Sweet"
    4. "Debonair"
    5. "When We Two Parted"
    6. "Fountain And Fairfax"
    7. "What Jail Is Like"
    8. "My Curse"
    9. "Now You Know"
    10. "I Keep Coming Back"
    11. "Brother Woodrow/Closing Prayer"

    Disc Two:

    The Demos:

    1. "If I Were Going"
    2. "Gentlemen"
    3. "Be Sweet"
    4. "Debonair"
    5. "When We Two Parted"
    6. "Fountain and Fairfax"
    7. "What Jail Is Like"
    8. "My Curse"
    9. "Now You Know"
    10. "Brother Woodrow"

    The B-Sides:

    11. "Little Girl Blue"
    12. "Ready"
    13. "Mr. Superlove"
    14. "Dark End Of the Street"
    15. "What Jail Is Like" (Live)
    16. "Now You Know" (Live)
    17. "My World Is Empty Without You/I Hear A Symphony" (Live)

    Tracks 1-8 Demos Recorded At Ultrasuede
    Tracks 9-10 Instrumental Rough Mixes, Ardent Studios
    Tracks 15-17 Recorded Live For KTCL At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO, May 10th, 1994
    Who will celebrate Gentlemen's 21st bday?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Afghan Whigs

    Tags: The Afghan Whigs

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart