• > Home
  • > News
  • > The Cranberries to Release "Roses" on Valentine's Day Next Year
  • The Cranberries to Release "Roses" on Valentine's Day Next Year

    Mon, 10 Oct 2011 13:15:07

    The Cranberries to Release "Roses" on Valentine's Day Next Year - It's their first release in a decade [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    The Cranberries Videos

    • The Cranberries - Tomorrow
    • The Cranberries - Time Is Ticking Out

    more the cranberries videos »

    Do you have to? Do you have to let it linger? Remember that tune?

    The Cranberries will return with Roses, their first studio album in over a decade, for Valentine's Day, 2012 via Cooking Vinyl for the world on Feb. 13 and Cooking Vinyl via Downtown Records in the US on Feb 14. The Cranberries, Dolores O'Riordan, Noel Hogan, Mike Hogan, and Fergal Lawler, began their career in their native Limerick, Ireland in 1989 and sold more than 30 million albums worldwide in the '90s. Roses was produced by the band's longtime friend and collaborator Stephen Street (The Smiths, Blur) and harkens back to the freshness and originality of the band's first two albums, 1993's Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We? and the 1994 follow up, No Need to Argue. Prior to Roses, the band's most recent album was Wake Up and Smell the Coffee, which was released in 2001.

    In 2003, The Cranberries announced their break up, but they briefly reunited for an acoustic performance when Dolores O'Riordan received an honoree degree at Trinity College in 2009. "The minute we started playing, it felt like we'd never stopped," Dolores recalls. "There's something about playing with The Cranberries. It's like putting on a perfect pair of shoes. It just fits." In 2010, they commenced a reunion tour of 107 concerts that took the band all over Europe as well as to North and South America and Asia, culminating in the band's first ever shows in China in 2011.

    Dolores stated, "Having recorded two albums with various different musicians during our hiatus, I could clearly see that Noel and Mike have a unique way of creating chords and Ferg keeps it together in a subtle way. We had a blast in the studio, Stephen was in his zone and it came together rather quickly. There is a sense of rejuvenation in the group, a freshness." Guitarist Noel Hogan added, "I always had the attitude that there would be another album. Over the last six years, Dolores and I were sending each other ideas on and off." During the reunion tour, the band began working on new music during sound-checks. He finished, "The icing on the cake was to work with Stephen Street again who helped us rediscover our sound."

    The songs on Roses come from a band with a renewed hunger and in every corner you'll find the extraordinary sound of Dolores O'Riordan's voice, the pivotal instrument which transformed the band from a group of young Irish hopefuls at the edge of the '80s into an MTV sensation and worldwide super group within just a few short years.

    Roses Track Listing:

    1. Conduct
    2. Tomorrow
    3. Fire & Soul
    4. Raining In My Heart
    5. Losing My Mind
    6. Schizophrenic Playboys
    7. Waiting In Walthamstow
    8. Show Me
    9. Astral Projections
    10. So Good
    11. Roses

    Are you a fan of The Cranberries? The band and the food?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Cranberries

    Tags: The Cranberries, The Smiths, Blur

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart