• > Home
  • > News
  • > The Monkees to Tour Beginning in June
  • The Monkees to Tour Beginning in June

    Wed, 02 Mar 2011 15:06:44

    The Monkees to Tour Beginning in June - It's their 45th Anniversary!

    The Monkees Photos

    • The Monkees - LAS VEGAS - AUGUST 10:  In this photo provided by the Las Vegas News Bureau, Michael Nesmith, Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork of The Monkees perform at Green Valley Ranch on August 10, 2013 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
    • The Monkees - LOS ANGELES, CA - NOVEMBER 10:  (L-R) Michael Nesmith, Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork of The Monkees perform at The Greek Theatre on November 10, 2012 in Los Angeles, California.
    • The Monkees - LAKE BUENA VISTA, FL - MAY 18:  In this handout image provided by Disney Parks, MICKY MEETS MICKEY:  Micky Dolenz, formerly of The Monkees, poses with Mickey Mouse before appearing in concert during the final weekend of the Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival May 18, 2012 at Epcot in Lake Buena Vista, Florida. Dolenz and his band will play nine concerts as part of the 'Flower Power Concerts Series,' today through Sunday, May 20, and pay tribute to his late bandmate and good friend, Davy Jones, who had been a long-time 'Flower Power Concert Series' fan favorite. Epcot is one of four theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort.

    more the monkees photos »

    Head Videos

    • HEAD

    more head videos »

    Hey, hey, it's The Monkees! Well, it's The Monkees sans Michael Nesmith. 45 years after their groundbreaking show and hit singles first took televisions and record players by storm, original Monkees members Davy Jones, Micky Dolenz and Peter Torkare proud to announce a new tour to dazzle five decades' worth of fans. An Evening with The Monkees - The 45th Anniversary Tour launches on June 3rd at Atlanta's Chastain Park and rolls through more than 30 cities before concluding July 15th in Los Angeles. These shows mark the first live performances by the band in a full decade, and are sure to draw yet another generation of fans to their one-of-a-kind mix of music and comedy. Again, Michael Nesmith won't be taking part in the tour.

    "We need to share this music once again as people want to hear music from times that made them happy," said Davy Jones. "The records are being played all the time. And, the fans are still there... So, we're going to do it." Micky Dolenz added, "I'm looking forward to getting back together with my old buddies for some good ol' rock and roll." Peter Tork concludes, "Each one of the tours we do is more fun than the one before." Tickets go on sale beginning on March 4th. Fans should check local listings and go here for updated ticketing and tour information.

    On The Monkees 45th Anniversary Tour, audiences will get a full multimedia experience celebrating nearly a half-century of the band's legacy. Jones, Dolenz and Tork will appear live on stage to perform all of their mega-hits including "I'm a Believer,""Last Train to Clarksville," "Daydream Believer," "Pleasant Valley Sunday," "(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone," "Valleri" and, for the first time ever onstage, songs from their classic albums and rarely heard selections from their cult classic movie, Head. In addition, songs and videos will be broadcast throughout the venue to provide a soundtrack before and after the main show, featuring Monkees rarities as well as covers by the legions of past and present artists they've influenced over their long career.

    An Evening with The Monkees - The 45th Anniversary Tour North American itinerary is below.

    Fri. June 3 Atlanta, GA Chastain Park
    Sat. June 4 Clearwater, FL Ruth Eckerd Hall
    Sun. June 5 Pompano Beach, FL Pompano Beach Amphitheater
    Mon. June 6 Jacksonville, FL Florida Theatre
    Wed. June 8 Glen Allen, VA Innsbrook Snagajob Pavilion
    Thurs. June 9 Morristown, NJ Mayo Center for the Performing Arts
    Fri. June 10 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Casino
    Sat. June 11 Niagara Falls, ONT Fallsview Casino Resort
    Sun. June 12 Niagara Falls, ONT Fallsview Casino Resort
    Wed. June 15 Lowell, MA Lowell Memorial Auditorium Thurs. June 16 New York, NY Beacon Theatre
    Fri. June 17 Westbury, NY Theatre at Westbury
    Sat. June 18 Atlantic City, NJ The Borgata
    Sun. June 19 Vienna, VA Filene Center at Wolftrap
    Mon. June 20 Hershey, PA Hershey Theatre
    Wed. June 22 Pittsburgh, PA Stage AE
    Thurs. June 23 Detroit, MI Fox Theatre
    Fri. June 24 Columbus, OH LC Lifestyle Pavilion
    Sat. June 25 Cincinnati, OH Aronoff Center
    Sun. June 26 Indianapolis, IN Murat Theatre
    Wed. June 29 Waukegan, IL Genesee Theatre
    Thurs. June 30 Merrillville, IN Star Plaza Theatre
    Fri. July 1 Minneapolis, MN Minneapolis Zoo Amphitheatre
    Sat. July 2 Minneapolis, MN Minneapolis Zoo Amphitheatre
    Tues. July 5 Denver, CO Paramount Theatre
    Fri. July 8 Tacoma, WA Pantages Theater at Broadway Center
    Sat. July 9 Portland, OR Sleep Country Amphitheater
    Sun. July 10 Saratoga, CA Mountain Winery
    Wed. July 13 Bakersfield, CA Fox Theatre
    Thurs. July 14 Santa Ynez, CA Chumash Casino
    Fri. July 15 Cabazon, CA Morongo Casino
    Sat. July 16 Los Angeles, CA The Greek Theatre

    Are you going to Monkee around this Summer? I am!

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Monkees

    Tags: The Monkees, Head

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart