• > Home
  • > News
  • > Throwing Muses to Release Art Book & CD in November
  • Throwing Muses to Release Art Book & CD in November

    Fri, 06 Sep 2013 11:47:14

    Throwing Muses to Release Art Book & CD in November - Listen to a new track

    Throwing Muses Videos

    • Throwing Muses - Sunray Venus
    • Throwing Muses - Vicky's Box by Throwing Muses

    more throwing muses videos »

    College radio rock of the '90s is back. On November 11, Throwing Muses will release their first new music in 10 years in the form of Purgatory/Paradise. It will be released as an art book with CD by Harper Collins on their It Books imprint.

    The alt rock band was revered in the 1990s!

    Ten years without a studio album led to 10 years of writing, of making, of hearing this music. The result is a fractured album, coming together in ideas and patterns, big beyond the scope of rock. Purgatory/Paradise is a return to an uncompromising approach. It embraces all Throwing Muses were and still are, without ever trying to sound like a Throwing Muses album. It''s yet another evolution.

    The Purgatory/Paradise book, designed by drummer David Narcizo, is a lush college of lyrics, photographs, and writing by Kristin Hersh. In addition to the CD's 32 tracks, every book comes with downloadable content featuring commentary, instrumentals, and the album plus art in multiple digital formats.

    Along with the book, Purgatory/Paradise will be released as an interactive e-book/music app, and digitally on all the usual outlets including direct from the Throwing Muses website.

    Track Listing:

    01. smoky hands
    02. morning birds 1
    03. sleepwalking 2
    04. sunray venus
    05. cherry candy 1
    06. film
    07. opiates
    08. cherry candy 2
    09. freesia
    10. curtains 1
    11. triangle quanitico
    12. morning birds 2
    13. lazy eye
    14. blurry 1
    15. folding fire 2
    16. slippershell
    17. bluff
    18. blurry 2
    19. terra nova
    20. walking talking
    21. milan
    22. curtains 2
    23. folding fire 1
    24. static
    25. clark's nutcracker
    26. dripping trees
    27. sleepwalking 1
    28. smoky hands 2
    29. speedbath
    30. quick
    31. dripping trees 2
    32. glass cats

    Listen to the song "sleepwalking1" below:

    You can also hear another track, "sunray venus," over on ThrowingMuses.com

    What children of the '90s are stoked about new Throwing Muses?

    —Katie Sheehan

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Throwing Muses

    Tags: Throwing Muses, David Narcizo, Bernard Georges, Kristin Hersh

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart