• > Home
  • > News
  • > Ty Segall to Release New Album, 'Emotional Mugger'
  • Ty Segall to Release New Album, 'Emotional Mugger'

    Wed, 11 Nov 2015 16:21:07

    Ty Segall to Release New Album, 'Emotional Mugger' -

    Ty Segall Videos

    • Ty Segall - Californian Hills
    • Ty Segall - The Singer

    more ty segall videos »

    Earlier this week, prolific garage rocker Ty Segall sent a handful of media outlets a VHS tape containing his new 11-track album, Emotional Mugger. In an official, quite cryptic, announcement today, the artist officially got the word out to the rest of the masses: the new record will drop January 22nd, 2016 via Drag City, with a tour starting in mid-January.

    There wasn't much else to sift through in the statement, except some erratic prose (portions of which you can find at Drag City). Stereogum actually has a good breakdown on the new venture, as detailed here: "In the past four months alone, the California garage-rock king has formed two new bands [Broken Bat and GØGGS] and released a ripping new album with his band Fuzz. But it's been over a year since his last solo LP, the glam-rock opus Manipulator, which means it's about time for a new one. And, sure enough, Pitchfork reports that his label, Drag City, has mailed out copies of Emotional Mugger, a new 11-track album credited to "Ty Garrett Segall," on glitched-out VHS tape. One tape received by Pitchfork plays the 1993 film My Life after the album finishes, while another features Star Trek II: The Wrath Of Khan, and one version of the album sent to a Rolling Stone editor is on an overdubbed Blockbuster video."

    The post goes on to include a sort-of album statement that was apparently included with the tapes on a crumpled-up piece of paper:

    "Emotional mugging is a psychoanalytic subject to subject exchange formed as a response to our hyper-digital sexual landscape.

    The over communication relayed in cell based technology and content driven media further detaches passengers of our modern society from deep emotional understanding. These detached residents seek meaning and physical contact which is readily available via traditional social standards often displaced thru the lens of the modern id. These individuals turn to salutation based sexual exchange and solo vice in return for a confirmation of non-emotion. This state of being that is well considered normal in our modern society is riddled with denial depravity and causes destruction on both the internal and external levels.

    EM is an unfortunate but tragically essential practice in the age of digital intimacy. Essentially "mugging" is non verbal and non-physical emotional exchange, regardless of the status of the mugger and the muggee. Mugging can help to fill the holes in our ego, and the gaps in our society.

    Unlike traditional mugging EM is a victimful crime wherein both the perpetrator and subject are victims of their emotional purpose whether the ego intention is subversive or provocative.

    Sexual response has been common for both roles and have often led to meaningful non physical sexual relations."

    Emotional Mugger is available for pre-order via Drag City, iTunes, and Amazon. There's also a special promotional video for the album at emotionalmugger.com.

    Emotional Mugger Tour Dates:
    Wed. Jan. 13 - Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern *
    Fri. Jan. 15 - Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
    Sat. Jan. 16 - Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *
    Mon. Jan. 18 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
    Tue. Jan. 19 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
    Thu. Jan. 21 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre *
    Fri. Jan. 22 - Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre *
    Sat. Jan. 23 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre *
    Wed. Feb. 17 - Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
    Fri. Feb. 19 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk Outside
    Sat. Feb. 20 - New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
    Sun. Feb. 21 - Memphis, TN @ The Hi Tone Cafe
    Mon. Feb. 22 - Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
    Tue. Feb. 23 - Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
    Wed. Feb. 24 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
    Thu. Feb. 25 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
    Fri. Feb. 26 - Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theatre *
    Sat. Feb. 27 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
    Sun. Feb. 28 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall
    Tue. March 1 - Boston, MA @ Royale *
    Wed. March 2 - Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *
    Thu. March 3 - Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *
    Fri. March 4 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *
    Sat. March 5 - Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre *
    Mon. March 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
    Tue. March 8 Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
    Wed. March 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue and 7th Street Entry
    Thu. March 10 - Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
    Fri. March 11 - Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
    Sat. March 12 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
    Fri. April 29 – Sun. May 1 - Austin, TX @ Levitation (Austin Psych Festival) at Carson Creek

    * - indicates with CFM

    Ty Segall Emotional Mugger

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff
    11.11.15

    Buy Ty Segall music at iTunes.



    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Ty Segall

    Tags: Ty Segall

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart