• > Home
  • > Footloose (Original Soundtrack)

  • Footloose (Original Soundtrack)

    Footloose (Original Soundtrack)

    1984 | Imports 

    • CD




    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Videos from Footloose (Original Soundtrack)

    All Music Guide Review

    Footloose was a throwback to '50s rock & roll movies, with a silly plot about a town where it was illegal to dance. It was a major hit, as was its soundtrack, which spent a grand total of ten weeks at number one and sold over seven million copies. It's easy to see why -- the album delivers its mainstream pop, anthemic rock, and light dance-pop with style and an abundance of hooks. Six of the nine tracks became Top 40 hits, and three -- Kenny Loggins' bouncy title song, the excellent power ballad "Almost Paradise" (a duet between Loverboy's Mike Reno and Heart's Ann Wilson), and Deniece Williams' frothy, charming "Let's Hear It for the Boy" -- shot into the Top Ten. The sound and production of Footloose has dated badly -- there is a reliance on synthesizers and drum machines that instantly announces that the record was made in 1984 -- but that isn't necessarily a weakness. Not only does it function as a time capsule of a certain moment in pop music history, but many of the songs are catchy enough to transcend their production. There's nothing of substance on the Footloose soundtrack, but it's a light, entertaining listen. Sometimes, that can be better than something substantial. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

    Credits of Footloose (Original Soundtrack)

    • Keith Olsen
    • Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Mixing, Producer
    • Art Wood
    • Drums, Simmons Drums, ?, Linn Drum
    • Sammy Hagar
    • Guitar, Performer, Vocals, Producer, Vocals (Background)
    • George Duke
    • Synthesizer, Producer, Memory Moog, Linn Drum, Mini Moog
    • Bill Wolfer
    • Mini Moog, Drums, Multi Instruments, Producer, Emulator, Memory Moog

    Featured Links