2013 | Mom & Pop Music 

  • CD




  • iTunes

    Prices may vary.

    Subject to availability.

All Music Guide Review

Dumb fun is the name of the game on FIDLAR's self-titled debut. With a name that stems from the acronym for "Fuck It Dog, Life's a Risk," that fresh-faced, born-in-the-'90s, Jackass mentality permeates their 2013 debut of 14 quick songs that revel in getting baked, getting drunk, surfing, and skating. Vocalist Zac Carper is nearly diverted from his constant slacker subject matter when Uncle Sam offers him cash to join the Army in "White on White" and when he's left in the Valley by an ex-girlfriend ("Whore"), but in each case he turns back to his old ways. The only other topic covered is how broke they are, for which their coping mechanism is -- you guessed it -- slamming booze, doing bong rips, and snorting coke. This is L.A. of course, where the fast-lane lifestyle is expected, and these guys are relentless in driving home the message that they intend to live every day like it's their last. Short-sighted as the party-hearty concept may be, the unbridled enthusiasm makes the album a helluva lot of fun even for those who have trouble relating to wasted youth. Where a similarly conceived band like Trash Talk waves old-school punk influences around but essentially sounds like modern metalcore, FIDLAR sounds raised on '80s L.A. punk acts like Angry Samoans, Fear, and Circle Jerks. Aside from the Wavves-esque digital-age recording fuzz, there's not much to differentiate "Max Can't Surf" from a Surf Punks track, and the love for street drugs and the amped-up '60s melodies are highly reminiscent of punk forefathers the Ramones. Judging them by their songwriting skills, you could call them wise beyond their years. However, if they heard you say that, they would probably just pour a beer on your head. ~ Jason Lymangrover, Rovi

FIDLAR Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Cheap Beer
  • 2:22
  • Sound Clip for Cheap Beer from FIDLAR

  • 4
  • No Waves
  • 2:13
  • Sound Clip for No Waves from FIDLAR

  • 5
  • Whore
  • 3:39
  • Sound Clip for Whore from FIDLAR

  • 10
  • 5 to 9
  • 1:08
  • Sound Clip for 5 to 9 from FIDLAR

  • 11
  • LDA
  • 2:26
  • Sound Clip for LDA from FIDLAR

  • 12
  • Paycheck
  • 2:53
  • Sound Clip for Paycheck from FIDLAR

  • 14
  • Cocaine
  • 7:27
  • Sound Clip for Cocaine from FIDLAR

  • Credits of FIDLAR

    • FIDLAR
    • Composer, Producer, Design, Mixing, Engineer

    Featured Links