Outloud - Outloud


  • iTunes

    Prices may vary.

    Subject to availability.

All Music Guide Review

Nile Rodgers' first and only album with Outloud, his trio with Philippe Saisse and Felicia Collins, is a logical follow-up to his 1985 solo album, B-Movie Matinee. Like that outing, it's too heavily synthesized to suit fans of the fatback disco/funk Rodgers perfected in Chic -- especially with Saisse's keyboard patches taking a prominent role -- but Rodgers' songwriting skills and fabulous guitar work make it well worth a listen anyway. His trademark rhythm lines are propulsive enough to give life to the keyboard basses and drum machines that drive these ten songs, and when things slow down on "Good Together," a duet with Collins, he shows he can still crank out a ballad in that classic Chic style. There's even a stomping tribute to Sly Stone, "Circle of Music/Music Lover," that best shows Rodgers' touch for using high-tech studio toys with real soul. There are a couple of duds to be weathered, including the gimmick-laden title track, but overall Outloud has aged more gracefully than most of the era's digital soul grooves. ~ Dan LeRoy, Rovi

Outloud Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Out Loud
  • 3:39
  • Sound Clip for Out Loud from Outloud

  • 5
  • Kak
  • 3:30
  • Sound Clip for Kak from Outloud

  • 6
  • Feeling Good
  • 4:06
  • Sound Clip for Feeling Good from Outloud

  • 7
  • Camouflage
  • 4:01
  • Sound Clip for Camouflage from Outloud

  • 8
  • Good Together
  • 3:39
  • Sound Clip for Good Together from Outloud

  • 9
  • Fundamental
  • 4:00
  • Sound Clip for Fundamental from Outloud

  • Credits of Outloud

    • Philippe Saisse
    • Synthesizer, Bass, Keyboards, Drums, Sampling, Producer, Vocals
    • Nile Rodgers
    • Synthesizer, Vocals, Sampling, Keyboards, Guitar, Drums

    Featured Links