• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Carly Simon
  • > Albums
  • > Moonlight Serenade
  • Carly Simon

    Carly Simon

    Moonlight Serenade

    Carly Simon - Moonlight Serenade


    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Moonlight Serenade Review

    Moonlight Serenade, Carly Simon's fourth collection of standards in 25 years, digs a little deeper than her previous outings. Perhaps it's the plethora of standards outings by popular artists -- Rod Stewart's done three in a row -- perhaps it's because of her pedigree and background; perhaps it's simply because she thinks she can pull it off, and indeed she can. She delivers these 12 songs with panache, savvy, and just a touch of sass.

    Produced by Richard Perry, these tracks are not so much elegant as enigmatic. Simon appreciates the swing inherent in delivering a standard, even if it's a ballad. Her smoky voice lends itself well to "I've Got You Under My Skin" and "My One and Only Love," and her sense of theatrics is drop-dead gorgeous on "I Only Have Eyes for You," which is a bit of a radical reworking that actually works. The slippery delivery on these songs -- her read of "All the Things You Are," for example, may be considered vulgar by some, but it's utterly lovely and brave -- is what lends them their unique, sexy character. This isn't for everyone, but it's a winner nonetheless. - Thom Jurek, All Music Guide

    Credits of Moonlight Serenade

    • Doug Webb
    • Clarinet, Soloist, Stritch, Flute, Saxophone
    • Mike Thompson
    • Synthesizer, Piano, Vibraphone, String Arrangements, Synthesizer Strings, Fender Rhodes, Arranger

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links