The Black Crowes

The Lost Crowes

The Black Crowes - The Lost Crowes

2006 | Rhino 

  • CD




  • iTunes

    Prices may vary.

    Subject to availability.

Videos from The Lost Crowes

All Music Guide Review

The Lost Crowes is right -- only hardcore fans will know of the music on this two-CD set, and even then, chances are they haven't heard it. And it's not like this is an odds-n-sods collection of outtakes and B-sides, either: The Lost Crowes contains two complete unreleased albums called Tall and Band, recorded in 1993 and 1997, respectively, but in the vaults until now. They're interesting companion pieces, too, since they not only have different feels but were shelved for different reasons. Tall metamorphosed into the sprawling 1994 masterpiece Amorica, with a handful of its songs popping up elsewhere, including 1996's Three Snakes and One Charm; Band was simply left behind as the group moved on to By Your Side. Not surprisingly, Tall sounds like a rough draft of Amorica; a lot of the ideas are in place, along with such Crowes classics as "A Conspiracy," "Wiser Time," "Nonfiction," and "Cursed Diamond," but the sound isn't as full-bodied, nor is the band as wooly. This means Tall isn't as rich or robust as Amorica, but it's sure interesting to hear the roots of that album, and the previously unheard songs from these sessions -- such as the dirty funk of "Tied Up and Swallowed," the lazy hillbilly roll of "Thunderstorm 6:54," and the sweet acoustic "Tornado" -- fit into the cross-stitched fabric of Amorica quite well. There's a seed of a great album in Tall and the Crowes found that seed and made it grow for Amorica; this may not be as good -- and it's understandable why it was reworked -- but it's certainly worthwhile for any fan to hear. If Tall did indeed need some reworking before it was released to the general public, it's a mystery why the band didn't release Band as is in 1997. Sonically falling halfway between the ragged Amorica and the hard-edged Three Snakes, this is a great Crowes album showcasing their skills as songwriters and as a loose yet muscular jam band. On the fringes of this album there is some country and the band does stretch out to improvise, but it never feels aimless, because there is an immediacy to the performances and because there are some terrific songs that center the album in a way that was lacking on Three Snakes. There is a hard-driving R&B and soul vibe here, ranging from the churning down-home funk of "Another Roadside Tragedy" and "Never Forget This Song" to the relaxed Faces-styled groove of "If It Ever Stops Raining," which is complemented by the few country flourishes, such as the mandolins on "Lifevest" or the high lonesome fiddles of "My Heart's Killing Me." This is the Black Crowes at their best, turning out classicist rock that flows so natural and easy it feels like these songs have always existed. It would have been great to have Band out in 1997, but having it arrive about ten years later only emphasizes how classic the Crowes sound at their peak, since it doesn't sound like a revival: it sounds like part of a tradition. And thankfully that tradition now contains these two albums, which do rank among the more interesting (Tall) and best (Band) records they've ever done. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

The Lost Crowes Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Paint an 8
  • 3:05
  • Sound Clip for Paint an 8 from The Lost Crowes

  • 4
  • Wyoming & Me
  • 4:15
  • Sound Clip for Wyoming & Me from The Lost Crowes

  • 5
  • Predictable
  • 3:14
  • Sound Clip for Predictable from The Lost Crowes

  • 7
  • Lifevest
  • 3:19
  • Sound Clip for Lifevest from The Lost Crowes

  • 8
  • Grinnin
  • 3:16
  • Sound Clip for Grinnin from The Lost Crowes

  • 10
  • Peace Anyway
  • 4:01
  • Sound Clip for Peace Anyway from The Lost Crowes

  • 11 (2)
  • A Conspiracy
  • 4:39
  • Sound Clip for A Conspiracy from The Lost Crowes

  • 12 (2)
  • Evil Eye
  • 4:26
  • Sound Clip for Evil Eye from The Lost Crowes

  • 13 (2)
  • Cursed Diamond
  • 5:45
  • Sound Clip for Cursed Diamond from The Lost Crowes

  • 14 (2)
  • London P.25
  • 3:33
  • Sound Clip for London P.25 from The Lost Crowes

  • 15 (2)
  • Dirty Hair Halo
  • 4:51
  • Sound Clip for Dirty Hair Halo from The Lost Crowes

  • 16 (2)
  • Hi-Head Blues
  • 4:20
  • Sound Clip for Hi-Head Blues from The Lost Crowes

  • 17 (2)
  • Feathers
  • 6:41
  • Sound Clip for Feathers from The Lost Crowes

  • 18 (2)
  • Nonfiction
  • 4:13
  • Sound Clip for Nonfiction from The Lost Crowes

  • 19 (2)
  • Tied Up and Swallowed
  • 4:19
  • Sound Clip for Tied Up and Swallowed from The Lost Crowes

  • 20 (2)
  • Wiser Time
  • 6:17
  • Sound Clip for Wiser Time from The Lost Crowes

  • 22 (2)
  • Descending
  • 5:25
  • Sound Clip for Descending from The Lost Crowes

  • 23 (2)
  • Lowdown
  • 4:51
  • Sound Clip for Lowdown from The Lost Crowes

  • 24 (2)
  • Tornado
  • 2:41
  • Sound Clip for Tornado from The Lost Crowes

  • 25 (2)
  • Song of the Flesh
  • 3:44
  • Sound Clip for Song of the Flesh from The Lost Crowes

  • 26 (2)
  • Thunderstorm 654
  • 4:03
  • Sound Clip for Thunderstorm 654 from The Lost Crowes

  • The Lost Crowes Notes

    Two CDs of previously unreleased material, remixed and remastered! Disc one, The Band Sessions, features ten songs tracked in 1997 at Atlanta's Purple Dragon Studio and Nashville's Ocean Way. Recorded just after the Three Snakes And One Charm tour, the roots-flavored Band Sessions captures the Crowes at their fluid, limber best.

    Disc two, The Tall Sessions gathers 16 tracks recorded in late 1993 and early 1994 at Conway Studios in Los Angeles. Cut as the young band was gearing up for the classic album Amorica, The Tall Sessions presents their raucous energy in peak form. Featured songs are culled from over thirty tracks from the original sessions.

    Credits of The Lost Crowes

    Featured Links