Jason Aldean

Wide Open

Jason Aldean - Wide Open

2009 | Broken Bow 

  • CD




  • iTunes

    Prices may vary.

    Subject to availability.

Videos from Wide Open

All Music Guide Review

Jason Aldean quietly turned into a genuine country star in the back half of the 2000s -- not the kind who has pop hits, but the kind who steadily reaches the country Top Ten, primed for a crossover hit. Wide Open, his third album, might take him there, since he manages to hit every contemporary cliché in the book without seeming too systematic about it. That light touch takes Aldean a long way, as it never appears that he's pandering even though he kind of is, making sure that he has songs about small-town girls with big-city dreams, paeans to Nashville, mournful laments about his rowdy ways, a tune about his big green tractor, and love songs to the country and girls from the country. Aldean puts a lot of rock in his country, particularly on the stuttering AC/DC riff that powers "She's Country," which is a bit of compensation for the plainness of his voice, but his simple, affectless singing does disguise just how shopworn his songs are. He doesn't necessarily turn the familiar into something fresh, but his keen, plainspoken voice does ground Wide Open, making ballads feel intimate and party anthems not too rowdy. It's nothing too risky, nothing too soft, just a straight shot down the middle of the road -- a road that runs through a subdivision that only becomes memorable through repetition. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Wide Open Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Wide Open
  • 4:00
  • Sound Clip for Wide Open from Wide Open

  • 3
  • Fast
  • 4:14
  • Sound Clip for Fast from Wide Open

  • 4
  • Crazy Town
  • 3:03
  • Sound Clip for Crazy Town from Wide Open

  • 6
  • She's Country
  • 3:40
  • Sound Clip for She's Country from Wide Open

  • 7
  • On My Highway
  • 3:47
  • Sound Clip for On My Highway from Wide Open

  • 8
  • Keep the Girl
  • 4:30
  • Sound Clip for Keep the Girl from Wide Open

  • 10
  • The Truth
  • 3:58
  • Sound Clip for The Truth from Wide Open

  • 11
  • Love Was Easy
  • 3:34
  • Sound Clip for Love Was Easy from Wide Open

  • Wide Open Notes

    After selling two million copies of his first two albums, topping the charts with five smash hits, racking up award nominations and hitting every stop on the requisite "new artist" tour circuit for the last three years, country rocker Jason Aldean is running full throttle into Spring. Having just wrapped his first full and very successful headlining tour, he's prepared to leverage that momentum with the release of his highly anticipated third album, Wide Open.

    Aldean’s debut of "She's Country," the first single off Wide Open and now the fastest-rising single of his career to date, was introduced with a lights-out performance on the CMA Awards in November. Written as a southern shout-out to all the country girls, the song champions the big guitars and solid backbeat that form the nucleus of Aldean's signature sound. It also gives fans a taste of what lies in store on the rest of the album.

    As the title implies, Wide Open celebrates the unlimited opportunities life offers, while recognizing the all-too-familiar speed bumps along the way.

    The modern, aggressive country sound of Wide Open, as well as Jason Aldean and Relentless, can be attributed both to producer Michael Knox and Aldean's touring band, who infuse Aldean's live sound into the studio recordings, melting the two into an unstoppable force his fans have come to recognize with the first note.

    With a calendar full of dates and a power-packed set anchored with hits and highlighted by new material, Aldean is ready to hit the road with superstars including Keith Urban and Toby Keith and live every day the only way conceivable —wide open!

    Credits of Wide Open

    Featured Links