• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Mat Kearney
  • > Albums
  • > City of Black & White
  • Mat Kearney

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    City of Black & White

    Mat Kearney - City of Black & White

    2009 | Sony 

    • CD




    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Videos from City of Black & White

    City of Black & White Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • All I Have
  • 4:49
  • Sound Clip for All I Have from City of Black & White

  • 2
  • Fire & Rain
  • 3:50
  • Sound Clip for Fire & Rain from City of Black & White

  • 4
  • Here We Go
  • 4:14
  • Sound Clip for Here We Go from City of Black & White

  • 5
  • Lifeline
  • 4:13
  • Sound Clip for Lifeline from City of Black & White

  • 7
  • Runaway Car
  • 4:11
  • Sound Clip for Runaway Car from City of Black & White

  • 9
  • Annie
  • 3:48
  • Sound Clip for Annie from City of Black & White

  • 10
  • Straight Away
  • 3:50
  • Sound Clip for Straight Away from City of Black & White

  • 11
  • On & On
  • 4:01
  • Sound Clip for On & On from City of Black & White

  • City of Black & White Notes

    When you record the type of smart, catchy songs Mat Kearney cut for his 2006 album Nothing Left to Lose, you end up spending a lot of time on the road. And after that album’s title track throttled up the charts, that's exactly what Kearney did.

    Three years later, he returns with City of Black & White, an album informed by the traveling, performing and adventuring the Oregon-born, Nashville-based singer did while supporting his breakthrough album. An open-hearted album of self-discovery, City of Black & White is a chronicle of the people he met and missed during that journey. Musically, it's an upping of the ante, laced with hooks and rhythms that are meant to sneak up on you quietly and quickly, en route to winning your love.

    "At its core, this record is about community—finding it and losing it," says Mat.

    "There's definitely the theme of this traveling/sojourner/vagabond kind of guy landing in the midst of people that he loves, and who love him—guy/girl, musician, old people, all of that. It feels as if the traveling sojourner of Nothing Left to Lose has found a home, a group of companions, and a love… It speaks of vulnerability more than distance—a place where someone can be pinned down to perseverance and heartbreak."

    Credits of City of Black & White

    • Dan Brigham
    • Guitar, Piano, Cello, Guitar (Electric), Programming
    • Paul Moak
    • Mandolin, Hammond B3, Guitar (Electric), Engineer, Audio Engineer, Electronic Mandolin, Organ (Hammond)
    • Robert "Aurel M" Marvin
    • Synthesizer, Piano, Piano (Electric), Keyboards, Composer, Programming, Producer, Sampling, Audio Engineer, Tack Piano, Audio Production, Treatments, Synthesizer Bass, Mixing, Vocoder, Engineer, Vocals
    • Mat Kearney
    • Synthesizer, Audio Production, Producer, Bells, Choir, Chorus, Vocals, Piano (Electric), Mandolin, Piano, Composer, Keyboards, Guitar (Electric), Guitar (Acoustic)

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links