• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Phoenix
  • > Albums
  • > Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • Phoenix


    Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

    Phoenix - Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

    2009 | Glassnote 

    • CD




    • LP




    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Videos from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

    Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Lisztomania
  • 4:01
  • Sound Clip for Lisztomania from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 2
  • 1901
  • 3:13
  • Sound Clip for 1901 from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 3
  • Fences
  • 3:45
  • Sound Clip for Fences from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 6
  • Lasso
  • 2:47
  • Sound Clip for Lasso from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 7
  • Rome
  • 4:38
  • Sound Clip for Rome from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 8
  • Countdown
  • 3:57
  • Sound Clip for Countdown from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 9
  • Girlfriend
  • 3:24
  • Sound Clip for Girlfriend from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • 10
  • Armistice
  • 3:04
  • Sound Clip for Armistice from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix Notes

    To write their new album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, the Gallic quartet decamped to various locales away from their home studio in Versailles, searching for the stimulus necessary to transform the new material into a coherent LP: Brancowitz and his bandmates Thomas Mars (vocals), Christian Mazzalai (guitar), and Deck D'Arcy (bass) worked in the Parisian studio of 19th-century Romantic painter Théodore Géricault ("The light was beautiful," Brancowitz says), chartered a houseboat on the Seine ("Not the best idea—some of us got seasick"), and stayed at the Bowery Hotel in New York City for a month, among others. As the guitarist explains with self-effacing humor, "It was like our Orson Welles moment."

    The results collected on Wolfgang demonstrate a kind of deliberate, considered approach, and in turn, they’ve created what is the best album in their already-amazing catalogue. Featuring the band's signature melding of synthetics and organics, of sharp, danceable rhythms and intense guitars, of effortless melody with a considerable dose of aural panache, the album's ten songs are more layered than previous efforts. "On our last album, we were trying to make a minimalist record—something austere, almost ascetic," Brancowitz explains. "This time we wanted to create something more elaborate." That's evident on electro-tinged slow jams like "Fences," the sweeping and mostly instrumental "Love Like a Sunset," and the spirited pop of lead-off track "Lisztomania," On first listen, his lyrics might seem obscure, but Mars definitely intends to reference the Hungarian composer: "Franz Liszt was the rock star of his day," he explains. "Other musicians hated him for getting all the girls; his concerts were out of control. This song's about playing live, the romantic beauty of a crazy crowd...and about the loneliness of still being one in a group of many."

    Credits of Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

    • Phoenix
    • Composer, Audio Production

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links