• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Iggy Pop
  • > Albums
  • > Preliminaires
  • Iggy Pop

    Iggy Pop


    Iggy Pop - Preliminaires


    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Videos from Preliminaires

    Preliminaires Notes

    Iggy Pop takes on the language of romance and puts a decidedly French twist on his new album, Préliminaires. Produced by longtime collaborator Hal Cragin (They Might Be Giants, Sarah McLachlan, Rufus Wainwright), Préliminaires, which translates to "foreplay", highlights another facet of the Iggy Pop persona, focusing more on jazz arrangements and the distinctive, rich baritone heard on classics like "Nightclubbing" and his duet with French legend Françoise Hardy on the song "I'll Be Seeing You".

    As Iggy himself notes in a fan message on YouTube..."at one point I just got sick of listening to idiot thugs with guitars banging out crappy music and I've started listening to a lot of New Orleans-era, Louis Armstrong, Jelly Roll Morton type of jazz. And I've always loved quieter ballads as well."

    The album themes and texts have been inspired by Iggy's reading of controversial French novelist Michel Houellebecq (pronounced Wellbeck), and his book "The Possibility Of An Island". "The book is about death, sex, the end of the human race, and some other pretty funny stuff. I read the book with intense pleasure when it came out, and in my mind, I created music that would have been the music that I would hear in my soul when I read this book" explains Iggy.

    On the record, Iggy even sings one song in French, a cover of jazz standard "Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)", a song widely associated with French legends Yves Montand and Edith Piaf. Other titles include New Orleans infl uenced "King Of The Dogs", a story about a dog named Fox who explains "how cool it is to be a dog, and how much it beats human life", and "How Insensitive", a jazzy bossanova standard composed by Antônio Carlos Jobim. There are also more raucous moments like the swamp-rock stylings of "Nice To Be Dead".

    The visuals for the album were created by French/Iranian graphic novelist and animated film director Marjane Satrapi of 'Persepolis' fame.

    Credits of Preliminaires

    • Hal Cragin
    • Bass, Guitar, Guitar (Bass), Composer, Percussion, Keyboards, Engineer, Mixing, Audio Engineer, Audio Production, Drum Programming, Producer
    • Kevin Hupp
    • Conga, Audio Engineer, Drums, Engineer
    • Iggy Pop
    • Guitar, Composer, Vocals, Lyricist, Engineer, Author, Concept, Audio Engineer

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links