• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Wilco
  • > Albums
  • > Wilco (The Album)
  • Wilco


    Wilco (The Album)

    Wilco - Wilco (The Album)

    2009 | Nonesuch 

    • CD




    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    Videos from Wilco (The Album)

    Wilco (The Album) Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 2
  • Deeper Down
  • 2:59
  • Sound Clip for Deeper Down from Wilco (The Album)

  • 3
  • One Wing
  • 3:42
  • Sound Clip for One Wing from Wilco (The Album)

  • 5
  • You and I
  • 3:26
  • Sound Clip for You and I from Wilco (The Album)

  • 8
  • Solitaire
  • 3:04
  • Sound Clip for Solitaire from Wilco (The Album)

  • 9
  • I'll Fight
  • 4:23
  • Sound Clip for I'll Fight from Wilco (The Album)

  • 10
  • Sonny Feeling
  • 4:13
  • Sound Clip for Sonny Feeling from Wilco (The Album)

  • Wilco (The Album) Notes

    Wilco's seventh release, Wilco (the album), took shape quickly in January '09 after the band traveled to Auckland, New Zealand to participate in an Oxfam International benefit project. The band began cutting tracks for the new album, producing it themselves with the help of engineer Jim Scott (Tom Petty, Rage Against the Machine, the Dixie Chicks). The sextet completed the disc at its Chicago studio.

    Wilco (the album) combines the intimacy of its previous studio disc, Sky Blue Sky (2007), with the experimentation of A Ghost Is Born (2004) in a set that boasts strong melodies and gorgeous, often unabashedly pop arrangements. Wilco has clearly laid out the welcome mat to admirers of all aspects of its career; in fact, the disc opens with "Wilco (the song)" - originally unveiled in the group's performance on The Colbert Report last October – in which Tweedy & Co. offer their fans "a sonic shoulder to cry on," promising,"Wilco will love you, baby." Talking to a Rolling Stone reporter, drummer Glenn Kotche calls it "a great, upbeat song professing our love for our fans." That said, Tweedy's lyrics remain frank and fascinating; Rolling Stone calls them "sly, insightful and often heartbreaking." As with Sky Blue Sky, most of the tracks are concise in shape; "Bull Black Nova," however, features a dramatically building arrangement and thrilling guitar crescendo, more duel than jam. It's followed by the gentler "You and I," a duet between Tweedy and Canadian singer-songwriter Feist, and "You Never Know," a gloriously anthemic track that is the album's first single. The disc culminates with "Everlasting Everything" a piano-driven ballad with delicatesonic nuances that lyrically celebrates love's endurance.

    Wilco (the album) follows the release of Ashes Of American Flags, a live DVD that artfully captures the mood and the music during the band's 2008 journey across the U.S.

    Credits of Wilco (The Album)

    • Jim Scott
    • Producer, Engineer, Mixing, Audio Production, Audio Engineer

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links