• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Fancy
  • > Albums
  • > Wild Thing
  • Fancy

    Wild Thing

    Fancy - Wild Thing

    1974 | Collectables 

    • CD




    • iTunes

      Prices may vary.

      Subject to availability.

    All Music Guide Review

    Anyone who was anywhere near a radio through the summer of 1974 will doubtless remember it well. A lascivious bassline throbbing obtrusively through the ether, a scythed guitar hacking one of rock's most memorable riffs, a synthesizer line which sounded like Jell-O dripping from vertiginous heights, and over it all, a young lady in a seemingly serious state of sexual arousal moaning, "wild thing, I think you... move me?" Donna Summer had nothing on Helen Court, and she, it swiftly transpired, simply had nothing on. A former Penthouse Pet, and therefore presumably well-versed in the lascivious manipulation of juvenile male hormones, Court turned in what remains one of the most pointedly sexual vocal performances ever to transfix an American radio audience. No wonder her band was called Fancy. Court, many listeners were disappointed to discover, recorded just the one single with Fancy; by the time of their debut album, she had been replaced by Australian Annie Kavanagh, but what they now lacked in steaminess, they more than made up for with passion -- comparable to Sonja Kristina, Kavanagh's performance on the group's second hit single, "Touch Me," and excellent versions of Elvis' "One Night" and Lieber-Stoller's "I'm a Woman," set the tone for the remainder of the album, a pounding blend of studious funk and glistening rock, shot through with some remarkable blues as well. Occasionally it falls into somewhat workmanlike territory -- excellent producers Mike Hurst and musicians Ray Fenwick aren't always the finest songwriters, and there was also a hint of haste around the album as they strove to strike while the iron was hot. Equally pertinently, the discovery that there was more to Fancy than three minutes of squelching did much to lessen both the album's impact and its subsequent allure. But approach it with an open mind (or, at least, a clean one) and Wild Thing will bare some deceptive charms. ~ Dave Thompson, Rovi

    Wild Thing Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 1
  • Wild Thing
  • 2:57
  • Sound Clip for Wild Thing from Wild Thing

  • 2
  • Love for Sale
  • 4:34
  • Sound Clip for Love for Sale from Wild Thing

  • 3
  • Move On
  • 3:17
  • Sound Clip for Move On from Wild Thing

  • 5
  • One Night
  • 2:59
  • Sound Clip for One Night from Wild Thing

  • 6
  • Touch Me
  • 3:47
  • Sound Clip for Touch Me from Wild Thing

  • 7
  • U.S. Surprise
  • 3:36
  • Sound Clip for U.S. Surprise from Wild Thing

  • 9
  • I'm a Woman
  • 3:32
  • Sound Clip for I'm a Woman from Wild Thing

  • 10
  • I Feel Good
  • 4:03
  • Sound Clip for I Feel Good from Wild Thing

  • Credits of Wild Thing

    • Marlon
    • Guitar, Guitar (Rhythm), Vocals

    Featured Links