Eliza Gilkyson


Eliza Gilkyson - Pilgrims


  • iTunes

    Prices may vary.

    Subject to availability.

All Music Guide Review

Eliza Gilkyson's 1987 album was a precursor to the floaty singer/songwriter style later turned into an art form by the likes of Enya. Gilkyson comes from a background that mixes up folk songs and unrepentantly melodic pop music, the mixture of which shows rather well in this gently engrossing album. If one goes by the interesting use of Tarot as part of the album's overall concept, and by the low-key, mixed acoustic and synthesizer production, it's easy to see why this particular record ended up being adopted by the new age crowd -- apparently much to the distress of Gilkyson, who would, it seems, rather be appealing to rock crowds. It's interesting, however, that the album is now being pitched on the basis of the popular "Calling All Angels" at a time when fascination with the idea of angels has reached an all-time peak. Pilgrims is an album of well done, pleasant songs vaguely built on the story of Tristan and Isolde and less vaguely built on ideas to do with the concept of love in a variety of forms. The album packaging, by the way, is beautiful stuff. ~ Steven McDonald, Rovi

Pilgrims Track Listing

  • #
  • Title
  • time
  • 3
  • Material Man
  • 2:32
  • Sound Clip for Material Man from Pilgrims

  • 4
  • Foolish Heart
  • 4:10
  • Sound Clip for Foolish Heart from Pilgrims

  • 5
  • Mr. Mystery
  • 3:39
  • Sound Clip for Mr. Mystery from Pilgrims

  • 6
  • Pilgrims
  • 5:12
  • Sound Clip for Pilgrims from Pilgrims

  • 9
  • Closer
  • 4:13
  • Sound Clip for Closer from Pilgrims

  • Credits of Pilgrims

    • Mark Hallman
    • Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Keyboards, Producer, Vocals (Background)

    Similar Albums to Pilgrims

    Featured Links